Carl Crawford – 2011 Topps Opening Day

March 9, 2011

Maybe We Need To Bring Back The Airbrush Artists?

I don’t know if Opening Day has been released everywhere, but I was driving from LaCrosse, WI to the Twin Cities yesterday afternoon (I had a speaking engagement in LAX) and stopped in the Super Target in Rochester.

The card department in that store was large and well-stocked, and they had blasters and packs of the 2011 Topps Opening Day Product. I thought Heritage was next up, but what do I know.

Anyway, I bought 2 blasters and six loose packs and out of 186 possible cards I received only 35 doubles. I like the concept of this set for the kids and the low-price collectors and a couple of the insert sets are better than the base Topps.

But in looking at this Carl Crawford card, I don’t think the photoshopping is worth it. The helmet’s OK (the Rays and Sox have close to the same base color of helmet) but the jersey is all kind of weird and the lettering is just…off.

We all dealt with it when card companies didn’t change teams, or had someone play for the Red Sox and show a different uniform. That’s OK. Also, that’s why you do a Series 1 and a Series 2. Though Crawford may be a big hit for the kids so I can see why it may be good to put him in Opening Day, but I think little Timmy can deal with a Red Sox card having a picture of Crawford in a Rays uni.

I wonder what they will do in Heritage.

PS – I’ve been added as a contributor to Bad Wax, so look for me over there soon!

Leave a Reply

