Greg Smith – 2009 Bowman

February 5, 2011

The Smirk Says “I’m Awesome”

Well, Mr. Smith may not be totally awesome (his ERAs in the minors have approached my SAT score in English) but I can tell you who is.

He’s the guy that finished my 1990 Topps with Garry Templeton.

He’s the guy that finished my 1989 Fleer with Gary Sheffield.

He’s the guy that finished “Old Yeller” Fleer for me.

He’s the guy that put me within one of the infernal Donruss 1988 (Mookie Wilson, how can you forsake me so?).

He put me within one of 1990 Fleer (Larry Walker, please report to Smed’s collection…).

He’s the guy that put me within two of the Rainbow-Brite Score (just need Lee Smith and Kevin Bass).

He greatly helped out my 1986, 1991 and 1992 Topps as well as my 1991 Donruss.

And he’s a Rockies collector, so I’m able to dump gladly trade my excess Rockies to him.

Who is he? Why it’s Cards From The Quarry. That’s who.

As for Smith – last year batters had an OPS of 1.003 against him in the majors. Now, the Rockies already have had great value from the Matt Holliday trade in Carlos Gonzalez and Huston Street, so whatever Smith can give them is gravy. But the gravy is looking awfully lumpy right now.

 

One Response to “Greg Smith – 2009 Bowman”


Leave a Reply

