Mike Marshall – 1974 Topps

July 1, 2011

The Iconoclast Take A Few Days Off…

I’m getting ready to go on a long weekend with the new girlfriend to visit her peeps up in the UP (watch out Marquette!). I hope today to get some supplies at my LCS and get my grab bags from Spring Cleaning shipped out today or first thing in the AM. I also need to buy my box for Gint-A-Cuffs III and rummage through some singles.

In an email exchange with the Spastik Moose, I declared myself the “Collecting Iconoclast”.

Why?

Well, look at my Manifesto page…

(Unlike Larry, I like a nice medium rare, but what most people in collecting called ‘ruin’d’ I call good!

To wit:

I found cheap Hobby Boxes of 2009 Bowman and 2006 Fleer at Shop-Ko, just to try to complete sets (I’ll get my updated want list for 2006 Fleer posted soon). The ‘hits’ of the box dropped right into the grab bags. That’s just how I roll.

I also use Word Press and not Google, and instead of ‘following’ I read all my blogs on Google Reader (both on my iPhone and my laptop). I know how to find you, and you know how to find me! Easy peasy!

And I think the weirdest thing is that I’m a set collector, but with caveats (no chasing short prints, nor cards that aren’t just players (except for a few sets like Updates and ’99 SI). So you pick up my 1989 Topps binder, it won’t have the checklists, and I bet it’s missing a few Record Breakers, managers, all-stars and leaders. It’s OK by me…

My team’s on the floor!

Anyway, this is a long-winded way to say I’m outta here for a few days, and to thank EVERYONE for putting up with this iconoclast! MWAH!

 

 

 

One Response to “Mike Marshall – 1974 Topps”

  1. night owl Says:

    Yeah, I’ve noticed the “no nonplayers” thing for awhile. Whataya gonna do with A&G which is not only filled with nonplayers but non HUMANS?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

