Oddibe McDowell – 1991 Upper Deck

March 16, 2011

Just Chillin’

First things first.

A. I am binderizing my complete and near complete sets, and some cards that I thought I had have turned up AWOL. I am not panicking yet since I have been in transition somewhat and I may have stashed a package somewhere. Nothing too rare or anything, but kind of annoying. But it leads to…

B. I am going to organize my doubles, and all of my cards are now under one roof. But soon I’ll need to cut down on my doubles and my singles of sets that I’m not collecting. (Sounds familiar, eh?) So I’m going to donate some cards and also have something called:

SMED’S GRAB BAG!

You’ll get a box with a few parallels, relics, weird cards and other cards. If you have a team you follow I’ll throw more in there, but this is a grab bag, ya know. You take your 1988 Donruss with you 2011 Heritage Stamps 14/65.

More details later.

Now, onto the card…

I’m going to refrain from the Berman-esque nickname. That one got played out quickly. (Actually, the only one I really like is Rick “Innocent” Lysander, but that’s just me…)

McDowell is one of the first college baseball players I remember, thanks to ESPN’s coverage of the College World Series. He was also one of the first players I really remember as “he looks so good, why isn’t he producing?”

At age 23, he had an OPS+ of 106 and a WAR of 3.0. He was labeled a disappointment because he only hit 18 home runs. From then on, his career devolved. My guess was that he was pressing to hit with more power and that screwed up his swing. He had a monster half-season for Atlanta in 1989, but tailed off badly in 1990, and at the time most players peak, he was back in the minors.

Did this card express a casual manner that McDowell displayed on the field? I doubt it, baseball is a sport where you need to pass time. There’s a lot of waiting in baseball. But of course, you need a little levity in each job, and even the President needs to fill out his brackets. (Obama’s probably glad Rahm Emanuel is gone, because that mother*$#^! probably intimidated everyone in the White House…”Biden, Gibbs, YOU ARE GOING DOWN YOU C*#$*&@ERS!”)

At any rate, McDowell wasn’t the first player to look good and play not-so-well, and not the last, but he’s the first one I really remember his entire career.

 

One Response to “Oddibe McDowell – 1991 Upper Deck”


  1. [...] Oddibe McDowell – 1991 Upper Deck « Smed's Baseball Card Blog Oddibe McDowell – 1991 Upper Deck Just Chillin'. First things first. A. I am binderizing my complete and near complete sets, and some cards that I thought I had have turned up AWOL. I am not panicking yet since I have been in . [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

